WSH Competency Standards

Developing Competencies through Training

Employers are required to ensure that employees of all levels i.e. workers, supervisors, managers, and WSH Personnel possess basic Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) competencies.

WSH competencies enable employees to:

Such competencies can be developed through formal courses or on-the-job training. More information about the competency standards and training courses are available below:

Competency Standards

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM), the Workplace Safety and Health Council (WSHC) and the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA), have developed a set of generic competency standards for employees of all levels.

Generic Competency Standards

The module on generic competency standards, under WDA's Employability Skills System (ESS), is part of the Workforce Skills Qualifications (WSQ) System.

The generic competency standards for employees of various levels are as follows:

Operations Level

Employees should be able to:

Supervisory Level

Supervisors should be able to:

Managerial Level

Managers should be able to:

Training Courses & Records

Find out more about the safety and health-related training courses, test fees for construction safety and shipyard safety courses and how to check for workers' training records.

Last updated on 2 Nov 2012 12:53:30